A look back at 2013

As another year draws to an close, the annual deluge of ‘Top 10 Lists’ is upon us.  So in the spirit of the season, I’ve decided to end this year of blogging with a look back at three of my favourite stories of 2013.

As 2013 comes to an end, I look back at some of my favourite stories of the past year.

As 2013 comes to an end, I look back at some of my favourite stories of the past year.

Listed in no particular order, they are simply what spring to mind when I reflect on which stories have stayed with me beyond their short shelf-life:

Partnering Research and Industry Health Sciences Matters, 2013

This story was an assignment for Western University’s Health Sciences Matters alumni magazine.

Writing about a medical device designed to help people swallow may sound like a dull day at the office, but interviewing Professor Ruth Martin quickly made me realize that swallowing is one of those things people don’t appreciate until it’s gone.

Professor Ruth Martin's enthusiasm for her research was infectious.

Professor Ruth Martin’s enthusiasm for her research was infectious.

In fact, a quick chat with my father confirmed that the loss of the ability to swallow was indeed one of the major complications my grandfather suffered after his final – and ultimately fatal – stroke.

Professor Martin’s device works by shooting pulses of air at the back of the mouth, and she is partnering with Trudell Medical International to bring it to market. This brings me to another memorable aspect of preparing this story – interviewing London business icon, Mitch Baran.

It took a quite few attempts to reach the president and CEO of Trudell Medical, but once I had him on the phone he was a dream interview.

After asking my first question Baran proceeded to give me all the information I needed to complete my story – without any further prompting or extraneous information. (Which, as any journalist will tell you, sure beats sifting through 45 minutes of tape to find one decent quote!)

The Joy of Slowing Downeatdrink, September / October 2013

I am a sucker for small town restaurants. So I was excited when I received an assignment to do a write-up on Anna Mae’s Bakery & Restaurant from Flanagan Food Services’ Selections magazine. A quick Google search reveled that the bakery was located in Millbank, Ontario – just outside Stratford – and only about an hour from home.

Since I always prefer to see something with my own eyes, it sounded like the perfect excuse for a summer road trip with my mother!

Anna Mae’s did not disappoint, and Millbank – the commercial heart of the area’s vibrant Mennonite community – was a delight.

Turkey Club

Mom and I enjoyed a delicious lunch at Anna Mae’s!

Our after-lunch stroll through the village brought us to another hidden gem – the Millbank Cheese Factory. As we stocked up on their famous cheddar I thought “This is a story for eatdrink magazine.”

I made the pitch and ended up expanding my initial assignment into two different stories – always a bonus for a freelance writer. The best part – we now have a fun place to visit after morning hockey games against the Stratford Warriors!

Sounds From the Ashes The Beat Magazine, November 2013

I have been writing about Serenata Music and its founder, Renee Silberman, since the chamber music series debuted nine years ago.  But I felt this particular concert deserved some extra attention.

“Banned Composers, Forbidden Music” commemorated the 75th anniversary of Kristal Nacht. What better way to remember the beginning of one of history’s most terrible times than to perform music the Nazis wanted to silence forever?

The concert commemorated the beginning of the end for many of Europe's Jews.

The concert commemorated the beginning of the end for many of Europe’s Jews.

In fact, this concert featured a few works that have only recently been rediscovered, after miraculously surviving the Holocaust even when their composers did not. That fact just reinforces my belief that creativity and culture can overcome even the worst oppression to be a powerful reminder of what is good in the world.

With that said, I wish you all a very happy holiday season, and a wonderfully creative 2014!

Leave a Reply

