Making time to take time off

If you’re a freelancer like me, chances are you’ve got friends and family who think your work life involves rolling out of bed around noon before spending a few hours in front of your computer in your pajamas.

After more than 30 years hustling for my next gig – first as a musician and since 2004 as a journalist and copywriter – I can tell you that nothing could be further from the truth.

For most freelancers – myself included – anxiety over where the next pay check is coming from keeps us on a perpetual search for new projects. That’s on top of making sure we keep current clients happy by producing consistently high-quality work and (too often) politely chasing overdue invoices.

Sometimes it feels like there aren’t enough hours in the day just to keep the ball rolling.

time-clock

That’s why it took me almost 30 years to take a real vacation. In fact, last summer was the first time in my adult life that I completely closed my business to take time off.

And guess what? The sky didn’t fall in!

Instead, I returned refreshed and ready to dive back in.

In fact, the experiment was so successful that I decided to do it again this year – for a week in July and another in August. I escaped to Lake Huron, and left my laptop at home.

Here’s how I made it work:

  1. I planned my time off well in advance, so I could manage my workload accordingly.
  2. I gave existing clients plenty of warning so we could make sure nothing fell through the cracks while I was away.
  3. I honoured my time off by making sure I could complete projects before I left, or by asking clients to extend their deadline by a week or two. I learned there can be a surprising amount of wiggle room – if you ask.

Then, I cleaned my office, turned off my laptop – and left it at home.

Did I check emails from my phone while I was away? Yes – once in the morning and again at night.

Did I get sucked in to new work? No. I simply explained that I was away from the office for a week and would follow up upon my return. Then I made a note for myself so I didn’t forget!

Did I lose any gigs by giving myself a break from the daily grind? I probably lost out on a couple magazine assignments because the editorial deadline simply wouldn’t work on my end. Did I burn my bridge with my editors? No. They totally understood.

Will I do it again next year? Absolutely! In fact, I am hoping to treat myself to a few quick getaways this fall and winter. The reality is – life is short, when it comes to work almost no-one is irreplaceable, and if you don’t make time to take time for yourself, it just won’t happen.

Where do you think I should go on my next non-work-related adventure?

1 thought on “Making time to take time off

Leave a comment